+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2
1 2 LastLast

Thread: Purchasing tickets Paris to Avignon, May 2011- Refused

Default Purchasing tickets Paris to Avignon, May 2011- Refused

Hello Paris By Train,
    I am a Canadian resident. I have followed your instructions in the "TGV tickets without fees" and have run to some difficulties. When I've endered my credit card information, I repeatedly get an "error, transaction not completed" message, and my purchase is declined. I contacted TGV Help and they have told me that idTGV tickets cannot be purchased using a North American credit card. This is not mentioned in your information (or I"ve missed it) and is not indicated on the TGV site.
    You are allowed to enter all of your information, receive the scheduled trains (only idTGV trips come up), choose "area" and journey, only to be refused at payment... no prompts or information re: foreign cards. I have also tried entering my country as "Great Britain" and you suggest and the transaction is still refused. (Which shouldn't matter as these are printable tickets)...I was told by TGV Help, quote: "Please note that foreign credit cards are refused for IDTGV trains.You have to choose another type of train or pay your reservation with a french credit card." Is this a new development to bar North Americans from pursuing the strategey you outline in your "Without Fees" article? Any tips? I want to secure the best-priced tickets Paris-Avignon for 4 adults, 1 child... by purchasing as early as possible. Thanks in advance.

I should have added that I was using the: http://www.tgv-europe.com/en/choose-country/index.php site to book these tickets, as indicated in the article...
    Thanks,
    guelphgryphon